The Path of Daggers

Author: Robert Jordan
Book #8 of Series: The Wheel of Time
View: 0
Published year: 1998


The Path of Daggers is a fantasy novel by American author Robert Jordan, the eighth book of his series The Wheel of Time.Perrin Aybara moves into Ghealdan to stop Masema Dagar, the self-proclaimed Prophet of the Dragon; but unknowingly rescues the deposed Queen Morgase of Andor from the Prophet's men. He then secures the oath of fealty from Alliandre, Queen of Ghealdan. At the end of the book, Faile Bashere is kidnapped by the Shaido Aiel. Egwene al'Vere, Amyrlin Seat of the rebel Aes Sedai, manipulates her unruly followers into giving her more control, and they Travel to Tar Valon, before their siege of its White Tower.Rand al'Thor, with Asha'man and Illianers, attempts to repel the Seanchan invasion in Altara. Though successful in early skirmishes, Rand loses control while wielding his sa'angreal 'Callandor', forcing a stalemate. Returning to Cairhien, Rand is attacked by traitorous Asha'man led by Dashiva, who fail to kill him. Mat Cauthon is absent from the book, due to injuries sustained at the end of the previous book, A Crown of Swords. Robert Jordan had earlier done the same for Perrin Aybara, who had been absent from Book 5, The Fires of Heaven.